Joseph Shabason


Joseph Shabason is a multi-instrumentalist, composer, producer and recording artist. After graduating as a saxophone major from the University of Toronto Jazz Performance program in 2006 he went on to play and tour in the bands Destroyer, The War On Drugs, Andre Ethier and DIANA. Two albums that he has recorded on (Kaputt and Poison Season) have been Short-listed for the Polaris Music Prize and the self-titled album from his own band DIANA was long-listed for the Polaris Prize. Kaputt was voted the No. 2 album of the year by Pitchfork Media and Poison Season was nominated for a JUNO Award in 2015.

Alongside touring and playing in original projects Joseph composes for film, television and commercials. He has scored docs for Hot Docs as well as scored Yung Chang’s documentary Omega Man that aired on TSN. Joseph has written the music for the Mirimax feature Silent Retreat as well as the short Melinda’s Wish starring BJ Novak, Amy Okuda and Bobby Moynihan. He also composed all the original music on the popular CBC podcasts Front Burner and Pop Chat.

As a session player and arranger Joseph has recorded saxophone, flute and keyboard for The War On Drugs, Rodney Graham, Austra, Sandro Perri, Andre Ethier, Jill Barber, Hannah Georgas, The Born Ruffians, Allie X, Matt Barber, The Fembots and many more.

Under his own name he has released the albums Aytche, Anne and Anne EP on Western Vinyl. He has released the records Muldrew with Ben Gunning (Seance Center) and Philadelphia with Shabason, Krgovich and Harris (Idee Fixe). Philadelphia was met with critical acclaim, and listed as one of the Top 50 albums of the year by FADER in 2020. His 4th solo album, The Fellowship is due out on Western Vinyl and Telephone Explosion in April of 2021.